America's 1st Settlement Trail
Explore the trail
The America’s First Settlement Trail is a three-mile marked path through downtown Pensacola and the Pensacola Historic District. Along this trail are twenty stops and over seventy points of interest. Along the Trail you will see sites from as early as 1756, when the Spanish built Fort San Miguel in what is now downtown Pensacola. Tour over 260 years of history and learn the fascinating story of how Pensacola developed into the city you see today.
America's 1st Settlement Trail Map
Plaza Ferdinand VII
Plaza Ferdinand VII is a National Historic landmark for being the site of the formal transfer of Florida from the rule of Spain to the United States.
ZARAGOZA & JEFFERSON
When city leaders decided to build a new city hall in 1906, it was a natural choice to select the location facing Plaza Ferdinand VII, a site of much political activity in Pensacola’s past.
100 BLOCK E ZARAGOZA
The M. F. Gonzalez Co. Wholesale Grain company, also known as Golay Mill, operated a grain dealership and grist mill out of a wooden building on the corner of Zaragoza and Tarragona streets in 1884 where the current parking lot is now located.
200 BLOCK E ZARAGOZA
Historic Pensacola encompasses 8 1/2 acres and 28 properties, 11 of which are open to the public.
The Dorr house was built by Clara Barkley Dorr in 1871 during a time of economic prosperity, partly the result of a thriving lumbering industry.
400 Block E Zaragoza Street
Built in 1888, by sea captain Gustave Axelson, this two-story frame vernacular house features a two-story verandah facing Pensacola Bay.
East Intendencia Street is one of the best-preserved early streets in Pensacola. The majority of the houses are Gulf Coast Creole Cottages and shotgun frame vernacular houses, built from 1810 to 1900.
Alcaniz and Intendencia
The Pensacola Historic District was the first to be designated within the city of Pensacola – and is one of the oldest historic districts in the state of Florida.
Garden & Alcaniz
Historical research and early maps indicate that the land in and around the St. Michael’s Cemetery was in use as a burying ground beginning in the mid to late 18th century.
Under the British city plan drawn by Ellas Durnford in 1764, each individual building lot was issued a corresponding garden lot.
100 block N Palafox, east side
This site was once the location of the Escambia County Courthouse from 1885-1937.
300 block N Palafox, east side
In 1867, this house was built for Danish sea captain Charles F. Boysen.
Top of Palafox
In December of 1885, the Pensacola Water Company was established to provide a public and private supply of water in and near the city of Pensacola.
500 block N Palafox, west side
Fort George was a fort built by the British atop Gage hill and was the largest of the trio of forts built upon the hill. The fort belonged to the British until the siege of Pensacola by the Spanish.
300 block N Palafox, west side
Christ Church, founded in 1827, was incorporated by the Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida in 1829.
100 block N Palafox, west side
Dr. Martin Luther King Plaza is a memorial park on the Palafox Street median between Chase and Gregory Streets.
Pensacola’s first Methodist congregation was established in 1821 by Alexander Talley, M. D. It met in a series of small, wood frame churches until 1881, when construction of a three-story, Romanesque Revival sanctuary was begun on this site.
The Thiesen Building, 40 S Palafox, represents a time of optimism in the business community of Pensacola.
100 Block S Palafox
Many of the early commercial structures along Palafox were Frame Vernacular buildings using wood-frame construction. On December 11, 1880, a fire burned five blocks along Palafox Street, destroying over 100 businesses.